Wintergreen Interdistrict Magnet School (WIMS) is a K-8 school that serves over 600 students from our partner districts: Hamden, Meriden, New Haven, Wallingford, and Woodbridge. Students can also enroll through the Magnet School Parent Choice program.

At Wintergreen, we educate the whole child through inquiry, innovation, and the arts in a diverse, compassionate and mindful learning community. Our rigorous curriculum is designed and implemented to prepare students for college and to provide students with the skill set necessary to positively impact humanity. Cognitively complex, creative, and meaningful learning is fostered through inquiry and authentic instruction. Diversity is valued and unity is nurtured at Wintergreen as we prepare our students to be active global citizens. Mindfulness and Compassion practices are infused throughout the school day in many classrooms. These practices have proven to be foundational for learning as they help to foster attention, kindness and a sense of well-being.

Apply Now  |  Schedule a Tour

What Makes WIMS Special

  • Technology integration including one-to-one iPads and Chromebooks for all students
  • Curriculum enriching field trips K-8
  • Arts Integration
  • Two specials periods for all students daily
  • Students play a band instrument beginning in grade 5
  • String lesson opportunities begin in grade 3
  • Two theatrical productions per year
  • National Junior Honor Society grades 6-8
  • Girls and boys Basketball
  • Student Government
  • Student-led Morning Broadcast
  • Studio-based visual arts program including small group art enrichment settings

Educational Partners

  • Southern Connecticut State University (SCSU)
  • Lincoln Center Education
  • Teachers college, Columbia University
  • Yale University
  • CT Science Center
  • Peabody Museum of Natural History
  • The Shubert Center

Partner Districts

  • Hamden
  • Meriden
  • New Haven
  • Wallingford
  • Woodbridge

Participating Districts

These students are enrolled through the Magnet School Parent Choice Program.

  • Branford
  • Derby
  • East Haven
  • Milford
  • North Haven
  • Stratford
  • Waterbury
  • West Haven